A Heritage Walk Round Kirkby

WhereKirkby in ClevelandType of EventWalk
WhenWednesday 20th June 2012TutorVarious

This walk was organised to explore the village with the help of the Kirby in Cleveland Heritage Trail leaflet. A large crowd gathered, on what was fortunately a dry evening, and we started by walking up Hill Road to the site of what had been the Poor House. Wayne Barnacle described how it had functioned until 1895, later being used for storage before its demolition after the Second World War. Wayne then went on to talk about The Glebe, its architectural history as well as the reason for its name.

Turning around to go back down Hill Road we stopped outside Prospect House,  where Mr Fenney, a jet miner–otherwise known as Grant Frew – described his life in the mines, and how he and his family worked as stonemasons in the buildings at the rear of the house. Passing the Black Swan the publican, William Dale –aka David Chadwick – came out to tell us how he had acquired the pub whilst also working as a blacksmith next door. He invited us in for a drink and said to tell the barmaid that we could all have drinks on the house!! But unfortunately there wasn’t time as Mr Hutchence, the schoolmaster – aka Jackie Cove Smith – had come out from the School House to chastise us all for hanging around and not attending to our lessons. 

We walked up Kirby Lane and David Thompson pointed out the architectural features in the row of cottages opposite to the church, and Rod Gill described the history of Cleveland House. We then went into the churchyard and finally the church where Roy Parsonage and Geoff Taylor, amongst other aspects, showed us some interesting inscriptions on the north wall.

The evening was rounded off with drinks in the garden of David and Ann Thompson’s house, whilst listening to a talk on local people given by Peter Clarkson.

Scroll to top